St Mary's Catholic Church

59 Normandy Street, Alton Hants, GU34 1DN
Tel: 01420 82030 Fax: 01420 85821

Liturgical Seasons

The worship of the Catholic Church follows a calendar that is based on a cycle of liturgical seasons plus saints’ days celebrated throughout the year.

Just as we mark our lives by anniversaries, the Church celebrates the mysteries of Christ’s life in a recurrent pattern. Within the cycle of a year the Church remembers and celebrates Christ’s conception, birth, death, resurrection and sending of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost.

During the course of the year we bring to mind past events and people to keep the mystery of faith alive today and we look forward to Christ’s return in glory at the end of time. As pilgrim people, we are constantly nourished by the story of Jesus and guided by the saints, our ancestors in the faith, living witness of God’s unchanging love.

In some respects the church’s way of keeping time conflicts with the secular calendar. The new liturgical year begins on the first Sunday of Advent at the end of November, just as many other things like the academic year are coming to an end.

The seasons of the liturgical year are:

  • Advent – a period covering the 4 Sundays before Christmas during which we prepare to celebrate Christ’s birth and anticipate his coming again at the end of time. The liturgical colour for Advent is violet.
  • Christmas – the season of Christmas celebrates Christ’s birth and early manifestations. It runs from 25th December to until the feast of the Baptism of the Lord on the Sunday after 6th January. The liturgical colour for the Christmas season is white.
  • Lent – the 6-week time of preparation for the celebration of Easter. It begins on Ash Wednesday and finishes on the evening of Holy Thursday. The liturgical colour for Lent is violet.
  • Easter – the heart of the liturgical year is the Easter Triduum (three days) celebrated from the evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper on Holy Thursday to Easter Sunday evening. The Easter Vigil is the high-point of the celebration. The joyful celebration of Christ’s resurrection continues for the 50-day Easter season from Easter Sunday to Pentecost. The liturgical colour for Easter is white.
  • Apart from these seasons, there are 33 or 34 weeks of the year that do not celebrate a particular aspect of the mystery of Christ but are devoted to the mystery of Christ in all its aspects. This period of the Church calendar is called Ordinary Time because the weeks are numbered in order. The liturgical colour for Ordinary Time is green.

Click side arrows to view different calendar months